top of page
Lawyer Office

About ISCLH 

The International Society for Chinese Law and History (ISCLH) was formed on January 1, 2014, after several years of consultation and careful preparation. 

The Society has been established to promote more regular exchanges of ideas and fruitful collaboration among all scholars across the world who are interested in better understanding Chinese law and society from historical and comparative perspectives. We plan to organize a series of workshops, international conferences, and publication projects on a regular basis. Our Society has grown rapidly and our registered members now include almost 140 researchers from more than ten different countries in multiple continents.
If you are interested in joining the ISCLH, please visit the Membership page or contact the ISCLH Secretary or President (listed on the Governance page). We look forward to your participation and support!
Please also remember to visit our pages on Conferences and Publications for updates about the most recent events and scholarship in the field.

The Team

The governance structure of ISCLH has been stipulated in the By-Laws of the Society. The Bylaws were approved unanimously by the Society’s founding members and then amended on July 11, 2015. The following Society officers were elected in the sixth election held in early 2024. Their term of service lasts from April 1, 2024 to March 31, 2026.

中國法律與歷史國際學會章程 Click to Download


Below please find a complete list of all the Society’s Officers and Directors 本屆學會管理層如下:

ISCLH Executive Officers 學會日常管理人員 (括號中爲所在大學及地區):

President 會長:               CHEN Shuang 陳爽 (Iowa, US)

Vice President 副會長:   Michael NG 吳海傑 (HKU, HK)

Secretary 秘書長:         XIAO Weilin 肖煒霖 (HKU, HK)

Treasurer 財務長:            Jenny Huangfu DAY 皇甫崢崢 (Skidmore, US)


The Committee on Conference 會議委員會: Dr. DU Yue 杜樂 (Chair, Cornell, US), Dr. WU Jingjian 吳景鍵 (Peking北京大學, PRC), Dr. XIA Yun 夏昀 (Shanghai 上海大學, PRC), Dr. ZHANG Meng 张萌 (Vanderbilt, US), Dr. ZHANG Zekun 張澤坤 (Yale, US)


The Committee on Publication 出版委員會: Dr. CAI Liang 蔡亮 (Chair, Notre Dame, US), Dr. Daniel ASEN 安大年 (Rutgers, US), Dr. MA Tsang Wing 馬增榮 (PolyU, HK), Dr. Nancy PARK 朴蘭詩 (CSU East Bay, US), ​ Dr. ZHANG Ying 張穎 (Leiden, Netherlands)


The Committee on Research 文獻委員會: Dr. Tristan BROWN 張仲思 (Chair, MIT, US), Dr. LUO Weiwei 羅娓娓 (Florida State, US), Dr. Ian MILLER (St. John’s, US), Dr. TAO Nanying 陶南穎 (Shanghai 上海財經大學, PRC)


The Committee on Development 發展委員會: Dr. LAI Junnan 賴駿楠 (Fudan 復旦大學, PRC), Dr. BAI Yang 白陽 (Shanghai 上海政法大學, PRC), Dr. CHEN Guanhong 陳冠宏 (CUHK, HK), Dr. HUANG Xinyu 黃心瑜 (PKUSTL 北京大學國際法學院, PRC), LANG Chao 郎超 (Harvard, US)


The Board of Directors 董事會 (in alphabetical order):

Jérôme BOURGON 鞏濤 (CNRS, France)

Thomas BUOYE 步德茂 (Tulsa, US)

CHAN Chun-Keung 陳俊強 (Taipei 臺北大學, ROC)

CHEN Hwei-syin 陳惠馨 (retired, Chengchi 政治大學, ROC) (honorary)

CHEN Li 陳利 (Toronto, CA)

CHIU Peng-sheng 邱澎生 (Jiaotong, PRC)

CONG Xiaoping 叢小平 (Houston, US)

Kentaro MATSUBARA 松原健太郎 (Tokyo, Japan) (honorary)

Nancy PARK 朴蘭詩 (CSU East Bay, US)

Teemu RUSKOLA 絡德睦 (Pennsylvania, US)

Matthew SOMMER 蘇成捷 (Stanford, US)

WANG Zhiqiang 王志強 (Fudan 復旦大學, PRC)

Robin D. S. YATES 葉山 (McGill, CA) (honorary)

Madeleine ZELIN 曾小萍 (Columbia, US) (honorary)

ZHANG Taisu 張泰蘇 (Yale, US)

Plus the following members of the Executive Council 董事會成員還包含下列執委會成員:

The Executive Council 執行委員會:
Dr. CHEN Shuang (President),

Dr. Michael NG (Vice-President),

Dr. DU Yue (Committee Chair),

Dr. CAI Liang (Committee Chair),

Dr. Tristan BROWN (Committee Chair),

Dr. LAI Junnan  (Committee Chair),

Dr. XIAO Weilin (Secretary),

Dr. Jenny Huangfu DAY (Treasurer),

To contact the Society’s management, please email Dr. Weilin Xiao at Thank you.

Former Governance, 2022-2023

Former Governance, 2020-2021

Former Governance, 2018-2019
Former Governance, 2016-2017

bottom of page